Silent Movie.


Part of the Chris Marker World Wide Web Site.
Written by Adrian Miles.

Video/multimedia/random loop

The following information is taken from the exhibition catalogue for the Silent Movie project.

Chris Marker

The installation is a monitor tower with each monitor screening material from a laser disk. The monitors are controlled by a computer so that they maintain a random sequence.

Modular tower of Tennsco slotted angle steel post.
Steel airplane cable.
Computer interface box.
Five Sony 25" video monitors.
Five Pioneer laser disc players.
Five laser discs (20 minutes each).
Top monitor: The Journey
Second monitor: The Face
Middle monitor: Captions
Fourth monitor: The Gesture
Bottom monitor: The Waltz

Scott Joplin, Bethena.
Artur Lourié, Dodo.
Alexander Scriabin, Mazurka op. 3 Nr 2.
Domenico Scarlatti, Sonata B minor Kk 87.
Billy Strayhorn, Lotus Blossom.
Nino Rota, Cantilena.
Alexander Scriabin, Mazurka op. 3 Nr 7.
Federico Mompou, Canço VI.
Duke Ellington, Reflections in D.
Artur Lourié, Valse.
Frederico Mompou, Canço VIII.
Leonard Bernstein, Lucky to be Me.
Alexander Scriabin, Prelude op. 11 Nr 10.
Alexander Scriabin, Etude op. 2 Nr 1.
Peter Illich Tchaikovsky, June.
Cesar Cui, Prelude op. 64 Nr 2.
Alexander Borodin, Nocturne.
Frederico Mompou, Pajaro triste.

In addition there is an essay by Marker, "The Rest is Silent" that is included in the catalogue for the installation.

Berkeley has a page on this installation and also some comemnts by Jean-Pierre Gorin on Marker.


Chris Marker Bibliography
Chris Marker's Words
Chris Marker's Audio Visual Texts
Chris Marker HomePage

Last Updated, February 22, 1996.

© Adrian Miles, 1996. Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University.